Image

Car Journeys

Anyone with children will know that they do not always take well to car journeys, they all have their thresholds as to how long they can stick being sat in the same position with not an awful lot to do. My little boy’s personal threshold is about 20-30mins; which is fine when we’re just driving locally, but when we wanted to go and see a friend in Bristol (about 1hr15mins) this weekend I knew we might encounter some problems. So turning to Pinterest for a little inspiration I came across a ‘car caddy’. It looked like it might be the solution and not all that difficult to make so I set about making one. I didn’t need a tutorial for this as I had my vision based on the different types I had seen on Pinterest.

I will share with you how I decide to make my version of the ‘car caddy’.

I started with a piece of fabric, folded over and ironed in some interfacing as I wanted the end product to have some stiffness to it, without this I didn’t feel he would be able to play with it as it would just fall through his lap when any pressure was applied with his toy cars.

Image

I also sewed this in for extra support.

Next I wanted to add the pockets or ‘garages’ for the cars, so took a piece of fabric and sewed this to the bottom of my existing piece, then it was a case of figuring out how many pockets I could fit across the length without making them too big or small 5 worked out lovely in this case.

Then of course we needed a road, so I found out an old pair of black jeans that I knew would have a purpose someday. Cutting the leg in half and trimming to size this could now also be sewn in place.

Image

Now to add some finishing touches and neaten the edges. I used some selvedge for my white lines, and put bias binding round the edges to stop the fabric from catching and snagging.

WP_20140212_015

The results are not too bad and Ethan loved it, kept him quiet/amused the whole journey.

Leave a Reply

